Former members of the Board of Trustees

Wolfgang Clement

Federal Minister (ret.) of Economy and Labour

Premier (ret.) of North-Rhine Westphalia


Ludwig Mauer

Advovate and Notary (ret.)


Maria Schulte

Art historican

Field of functions: Planning and realization of exhibitions and events, conservatorial service of the collection, practical training of students.

Board of management

The board of management is the outward representation of the foundation and in charge of the realization of the foundations objectives.


Dr. Silke von Berswordt-Wallrabe, chairwoman

Art historian

Field of functions: Schedule planning, public relation, publications



Fritze von Berswordt-Wallrabe

Business consultant

Field of functions: finances, contacts to authorities and public institutions



Bettina Eickhoff

Chairwoman of The Assiociation Situation Kunst – Haus Weitmar

Aufgabenbereich: Fundraising, Contacts to donators and sponsors



Dr. Christina Reinhardt

Chancellor of the Ruhr University of Bochum

Field of functions: Networking between Situation Kunst and the Ruhr University
of Bochum


Board of trustees

The board of trustees consists of three to seven members observing the actions of the board of management.




Dr. Ottilie Scholz (Chairwoman)

Mayor of Bochum (ret.)


Carina Gödecke

Chairwoman of State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia


Reinhard Klimmt

Premier (ret.) of Saarland

Federal Minister (ret.) of  Transport, Building and Housing


Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert

President of the German Bundestag


Gerhard Möller
Chancellor (ret.) of the Ruhr University of Bochum


Prof. Dr. Axel Schölmerich
Rector of the Ruhr University of Bochum


Georg F. Thoma


Advisory Council on Africa

In 2005, the Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, S. E. Prof. Tunde Adeniran, has taken over the patronage of Situation Kunsts’ collection of exhibits of West Africa (mainly the region of todays Nigeria).


The following scientists of the Faculty Council consult the presentation and events concerning the African exhibits in Situation Kunst:


Dr. Stefan Eisenhofer

Head of Africa Department of the Museum für Völkerkunde, Munich


Dr. Christian Goedicke

Rathgen-Forschungslabor, Berlin


Lorenz Homberger

Assistant Director of the Museum Rietberg in Zurich and Head of the Africa Department


Dr. Peter Junge

Head of Africa Department of  Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin


Prof. Dr. Ernst Pernicka (Spokesman of the Faculty Council)

Institute of Pre- and Early History and Archeology of the Middle Ages at the Eberhard-Karls-Universität of Tübingen and Curt-Engelhorn-Zentrum Archäometrie gGmbH


Prof. Dr. Guenther Wagner

Max-Planck-Institut, Heidelberg